Serbia, officially the Republic of Serbia, is a landlocked country located at the crossroads of Central- and Southeastern Europe, covering the southern lowlands of the Carpathian basin and the central part of the Balkans. Serbia borders Hungary to the north; Romania and Bulgaria to the east; the Republic of Macedonia to the south; and Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Montenegro to the west; its border with Albania is disputed. Serbia's capital city, Belgrade, is among the most populous in Southeastern Europe. In February 2008, the parliament of Kosovo, Serbia's southern province with an ethnic Albanian  majority, declared independence. The response from the international community has been mixed. Serbia regards Kosovo as an autonomous province of Serbia, governed by UNMIK, a UN mission. Serbia is a member of the United Nations, Council of Europe, BSEC, and will preside over the CEFTA in 2010. Serbia is classified as an emerging and developing economy by the International Monetary Fund and an upper-middle income economy by the World Bank. WTO accession  is expected in 2010. Serbia has a high Human Development Index and Freedom House in 2008 listed Serbia as one of few free  Balkan states. The country is also an EU membership applicant and a militarily neutral country.

Powered by Arfooo directory © 2008 - 2010    Generated in 0.051 Queries: 5    Contact   .. Newsletter